The summary of Padasodhanavara

Extra notes:
World Cycles when Buddhas Appear (Buddha Kappa)

An aeon or world cycle in which there is no Buddha is called a suñña kappa (empty or void aeon). An aeon in which one or more Buddhas appear is called a Buddha kappa. By the word kappa standing alone, a Maha-kappa is meant. 

There are five types of Buddha kappas, namely:
  1. Sara-kappa in which one Buddha appears
  2. Manda-kappa in which two Buddhas appear
  3. Vara-kappa in which three Buddhas appear
  4. Saramanda-kappa in which four Buddhas appear
  5. Bhadda-kappa in which five Buddhas appear

The present kappa is a Bhadda (auspicious) kappa; of its five Buddhas, four have appeared, namely: 
  1. Kakusandha, 
  2. Konagamana, 
  3. Kassapa and 
  4. Gotama (Sakyamuni), 
  5. the fifth Mettaya has yet to appear. 

The interval of time that elapses between one Buddha kappa and the next can vary from one kappa to one asankheyya of kappas.

‘Asankheyya’ literally means ‘innumerable’ while Childers’ Pali Dictionary defines asankheyya as the highest of the numerals 10140 or 1 followed by 140 zeros! An asankheyya of kappas, 10140 or innumerable number of world cycles is a mind-boggling time period that defies the imagination! It should not be confused with asankheyya-kappa, which is just ¼ of a kappa. Our Lord Buddha Gotama received his confirmation when as the hermit Sumedha, he made his aspiration to become a Supreme Buddha at the feet of Dipankara Buddha, four asankheyyas of kappas and one hundred thousand kappas ago. Since then there have been 11 Buddha kappas, the present one being the eleventh.

Listen to the Dhamma talks:

No comments: